Aged Care Standards

aged care standards

The new Aged Care Quality Standards commenced on 1 July 2019.

There are eight standards that aged care providers must meet – no matter what type of aged care service is being provided. Understanding the role of Governance and its linking in each Standard, will be discussed further later.

1. Consumer dignity and choice

You are treated with dignity and respect, and can maintain your identity. You can make informed choices about your care and services, and live the life you choose.

2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers

You are a partner in ongoing assessment and planning that helps you get the care and services you need for your health and wellbeing.

3. Personal care and clinical care

You get personal care, clinical care, or both, that is safe and right for you.

4. Services and supports for daily living

You get the services and supports for daily living that are important for your health and wellbeing, and that enable you to do the things you want to do.

5. Organisation’s service environment

You feel you belong and are safe and comfortable in the organisation’s service environment.

6. Feedback and complaints

You feel safe and are encouraged and supported to give feedback and make complaints. You are engaged in processes to address your feedback and complaints, and appropriate action is taken.

7. Human resources

You get quality care and services when you need them from people who are knowledgeable, capable, and caring.

8. Organisational governance

You are confident the organisation is well run. You can partner in improving the delivery of care and services.


clinical governance framework